mustard thyme roasted potatoes

IMG_9291

Mustard is the new ketchup. I swear. It’s one of those condiments I could put on almost anything savory. And that is no exaggeration. Eggs. Sandwiches. Vegetables. Fries. Chicken. Beef. Pork. Sausage. Fish. You get the gist. Don’t get me wrong, I love ketchup too. But there’s something about Dijon that makes me a very, very happy person. I’m partial to Maille as a mustard brand not only because of its quality, but there’s a Maille store in Paris that I visit religiously on every trip and love. It’s the mecca of mustard. And I’m like a kid in a candy store there. I brought back 15 different kinds of mustard in my suitcase last time I visited. Maille makes about 30 flavors of Dijon though, so really I exercised a decent amount of self-control. Blue cheese was a must. I wanted to try the horseradish. Parmesan and basil? I was intrigued. Fig and coriander. Cassis…I admit that the reddish color sold me. Dill and lime. The list goes on and on. So I digress. But my point is, Dijon is where it’s at. I don’t know why I’ve never tried to make my own whole grain Dijon. All it takes is a little white wine, white wine vinegar and mustard seeds. Next time I’m at the grocery store I’ll pick up brown and yellow mustard seeds and report back.

The whole grain Dijon, in and of itself, makes this recipe. It adds a rustic grainy texture to the mix and the potatoes get a crispy mustard coating. It’s not an overbearing flavor, just enough to know the potatoes are roasted with mustard. Thyme and mustard compliment each other well, but if you don’t have fresh thyme on hand use dried. Or fresh rosemary would also be a tasty substitution.

mustard thyme roasted potatoes
makes 6 servings
useful gadgets: herb mincer or herb scissors

2 ½ pounds unpeeled potatoes
⅛ cup olive oil
⅛ cup melted butter
½ cup whole grain Dijon mustard
2 tbsp fresh thyme
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp salt
1 tsp freshly ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

Cube the potatoes and place them in a large bowl. Drizzle the olive oil and butter over the potatoes and stir until they’re evenly coated. Add the whole grain Dijon, thyme and garlic cloves. Stir the potatoes again to make sure all the ingredients are well incorporated.

IMG_9261

Spread the potatoes out on a baking sheet in a single layer so they cook evenly. Sprinkle the salt and pepper over them and roast for 20 minutes, turning occasionally. If you cut larger cubes, make sure to roast the potatoes a bit longer, until they’re crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. Just stick a fork in one of the larger cubes to see if it’s cooked. Transfer the potatoes to a serving bowl.

Preparing ahead of time? Keep the potatoes on the baking sheet for no more than a couple hours at room temperature and pop them back in the oven at 400°F for 5-10 minutes right before serving. Caveat? They’re best right out of the oven.

whisk away!

3 thoughts on “mustard thyme roasted potatoes

Leave a Reply

