grandma’s cheese spaghetti

IMG_0746

Hello memories. Let me take you back briefly to my college days. Junior year I lived with five of my closest friends, one of whom made this dish pretty regularly. So no, it isn’t my grandma’s cheese spaghetti. It’s Michelle’s grandma’s cheese spaghetti. Anytime she made it we would hover around the kitchen. Or maybe that was just me because damn, I love this stuff. It fed the 6 of us easily and was a family dinner staple. Anyway, it was Michelle’s birthday this week and I thought what better way to celebrate than make her signature dish. I was going to call it Michelle’s cheese spaghetti, but I just couldn’t get myself to know the dish as anything other than grandma’s cheese spaghetti. So happy birthday Michelle, and thank you for feeding me many a night in college with grandma’s cheese spaghetti!

Don’t judge before you try. Yes there are only three ingredients. Grandma’s cheese spaghetti doesn’t disappoint.

grandma’s cheese spaghetti
serves 6
useful gadgets: square baking dish

1 package angel hair pasta
2 cans tomato soup
1 16-ounce package Velveeta
pinch of sea salt (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350°. Make the angel hair pasta according to the directions on the package. After draining the water, place the pasta back in the pot and add the two cans of tomato soup. Stir the pasta until it is entirely coated. Slice the Velveeta into 1-inch cubes and mix into the pasta.

IMG_0686

Transfer the pasta to a square baking dish and bake until the top is slightly charred and hard, about 45 minutes. Let it cool a little, otherwise cutting it into pieces will be difficult! Sprinkle the top with sea salt and tada…grandma’s cheese spaghetti!

IMG_0752

whisk away!

Leave a Reply

