rosemary turkey burgers with meyer lemon aioli

IMG_0928

It’s spring. Finally. I’ve waited months for this weather. And when I say months, I mean 6 bitter cold and windy months. I should really own a face mask by now, but I convince myself every year not to give in because my earmuffs are just too awesome. My thought process goes something like this, “You don’t need a face mask Danielle. You can make it another winter with just earmuffs. Toughen up.” Not a very adult-like decision, I know. But I love my earmuffs, so much so that I sacrifice my warmth for them.

So what do I do on the first 70 degree day of the year? Grill. I have to admit, I don’t own a grill. I’m in the market for one, just like every other kitchen appliance and gadget that I don’t already own…but as of yet, I’m not a proud grill owner. With that said, I give the credit for these turkey burgers to Andy and Lauren, my downstairs neighbors, who so graciously let me take their grill out for the first time this year.

rosemary turkey burgers with meyer lemon aioli
makes 6 burgers
useful gadgets: hamburger press

for the burgers:
2 lbs ground turkey
¼ cup fresh chopped rosemary
½ onion, finely chopped
½ cup grated parmesan
1 tsp garlic powder
1 egg
½ cup bread crumbs
salt and pepper to taste
olive oil for brushing

for the meyer lemon aioli:
½ cup mayonnaise
1 Meyer lemon, juiced
2 tbsp Meyer lemon zest, from about 2 Meyer lemons
2 tbsp Dijon mustard
1 tsp Sherry wine vinegar
2 tbsp olive oil

for the buns:
4 brioche buns
4 tbsp salted butter, melted

To make the patties, combine the turkey, rosemary, onion, parmesan cheese, garlic powder and egg in a medium-sized bowl. Set the bread crumbs aside in a separate bowl. Mix the ingredients in the medium-sized bowl together with your hands, squeezing to combine well. Add the bread crumbs a bit at a time until the patty mixture isn’t quite as sticky and it becomes easier to handle. To help with this, you can also put flour on your hands.

IMG_0868

Put a piece of parchment paper on a baking sheet to keep the patties on until the grill is ready. Divide the mixture into equal sized balls. Flatten the patties and brush each with a little olive oil.

IMG_0882

To make the Meyer lemon aioli, zest two Meyer lemons and place the rind in a small bowl. Juice one of the zested lemons, which should produce about 2 tbsp of juice, and add it to the bowl. Whisk in the mayonnaise, mustard, Sherry wine vinegar and olive oil until well combined. Now here are my two cents on the lemons you use. Meyer lemons are small and sweet. If you can’t find Meyer lemons, you only need one lemon because regular lemons are about twice as large. There will be a different taste to the aioli if regular lemons are used because they have a more tangy flavor. Just keep that in mind in case you make any substitutions. I recommend Meyer lemons. Yes, they’re a tad more expensive but the sweet lemon flavor is 100% worth it.

Set the aioli aside, keeping it at room temperature, until the turkey burgers are cooked.

IMG_0916

Heat the grill to medium high just before preparing the patties. If you don’t have a grill or it’s too chilly outside, preheat a grill pan or George Forman.

Place the patties on an oiled grill. Cook for about ten minutes, five minutes on each side. Cooking time will of course depend on the thickness of the patties you make and the temperature of your grill or pan, so be sure to check frequently so the burgers don’t get overcooked. Cut the brioche buns in half, brush them with the melted butter and add them to the grill until lightly charred.

IMG_0892

When the patties are completely cooked, remove them from the grill and place them on the buns. Put about 2 heaping tablespoons of the Meyer lemon aioli on each patty and top with the remaining Brioche.

IMG_0918

whisk away!

2 thoughts on “rosemary turkey burgers with meyer lemon aioli

Leave a Reply

