kale kumquat salad

IMG_1087

I’ve tried thus far to keep my posts more about food and less about my personal life. Today, however, is an exception. I’ve really been at a loss for words since the Boston Marathon last Monday, hence the lack of posts. I’ll admit, the bombing didn’t sink in immediately, probably because I simply couldn’t bring myself to believe that something like this could happen here. But when it sunk in, it really sunk in. The events of last week were heartbreaking, to say the least. So here’s to Boston Strong, I couldn’t be prouder to call this city my home.

photo (1)

Now for a bit of a lighter topic, let’s talk about kumquats. I just had my first kumquat recently and I must say, I’m impressed. Do not, I repeat, do not try and just eat the inside of the kumquat. Not that I did that or anything, but you’ll be in for an unpleasant surprise. The kumquat skin may be sweet, but it’s sour as you know what on the inside. Don’t let that shy you away from trying one though. I have my kitchen partner in crime, Ronay, to thank for introducing kumquats to my taste buds. I mean, I have a lot to thank her for other than that, of course, like sharing this salad with me and letting me share it with you!

kale kumquat salad
makes 8 servings
useful gadgets: mini food processor

for the salad:
2 bunches kale, chopped
2 cups kumquats, halved
2 cups cherry tomatoes
1 shallot, chopped
2 avocados, cubed

for the vinaigrette:
2 oranges, juiced
2 tbsp fresh basil, minced
1/3 cup rice vinegar
2 tsp Agave
salt & pepper to taste

To make the vinaigrette, whisk together the freshly squeezed orange juice, basil, rice vinegar, Agave, salt and pepper. Depending on how the basil is cut, you may want to put the vinaigrette in a mini food processor to blend all the ingredients well together. Completely optional though.

To assemble the salad, place the chopped kale in a large bowl. I was lucky enough to find purple kale at the grocery store yesterday, hence the purple stalks. Regular kale looks a bit different, but the end result will be the same. Purple kale really just looks prettier, in my opinion.

IMG_1052

Combine the kumquats, cherry tomatoes, shallot and avocado in the bowl with the kale.

IMG_1056

Mix the salad well, making sure all the ingredients aren’t sitting at the bottom of the bowl. If you’re going to eat the salad immediately, drizzle the dressing over it and use tongs to make sure the kale is evenly coated.

IMG_1086

boston strong!

Leave a Reply

