bacon honey roasted peanut butter cookies

IMG_1283

Okay people, I found the secret ingredient to peanut butter cookies. It’s homemade peanut butter! Duh, right? It may add an extra step to the process, but let me tell you, it makes a difference. I strangely don’t like peanuts, but dangle a jar of peanut butter in front of me and you’ll have my undivided attention. I’ve gotten really into peanut butter lately. There are worse things…I just wish I didn’t want it at every meal because let’s be honest, it’s not the healthiest thing to eat three times a day every day. Especially when you like licking it off a spoon. Ahem.

So…bacon. Who can really refuse anything with bacon in it? Okay, maybe someone that keeps kosher. But there’s always turkey bacon. It’s not quite the same, but close enough for government work. I just love the idea of bacon in everything, it makes me really very happy. Maybe except in my cereal. I don’t know how that would work out.

bacon honey roasted peanut butter cookies
makes 18 cookies
useful gadgets: food processor, cookie scoop

16 ounces honey roasted peanuts
1 tsp coconut oil
1 cup light brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp cinnamon
4 slices bacon, cooked
sea salt

Preheat the oven to 350° and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.

To make the peanut butter, place the honey roasted peanuts and coconut oil in a food processor. Pulse until the peanuts reach a smooth consistency and the mixture looks like peanut butter. This makes about 1½ cups of peanut butter. If you don’t have a food processor or don’t feel like making your own peanut butter, Whole Foods has peanuts already in a grinder that you can grind right there at the store. They also have honey roasted, not saying just saying.

IMG_1159

In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the homemade peanut butter, light brown sugar, eggs and cinnamon. Beat the mixture until it’s well combined. Cut the cooked bacon into little pieces, I used a mini food processor and pulsed just a few times. Add the bacon to the bowl and mix until it’s incorporated.

Using a medium-sized cookie scoop, place balls on the cookie sheet about 2 inches apart from each other. Coat a fork with non-stick spray and make a crisscross indentation on each cookie. Apply more non-stick spray as needed so the cookie dough doesn’t stick to the fork. Sprinkle a pinch of sea salt on top of each cookie.

IMG_1192

Bake the cookies for 10 minutes, or until they’re slightly brown on the outside. If you like your cookies on the crispier side, try baking them a minute or two more.

IMG_1255

whisk away!

12 thoughts on “bacon honey roasted peanut butter cookies

  1. Pingback: bacon peanut butter cookies | cooking from the heart

  2. Pingback: MID-WEEK MAIL #4 | Denim and Gray

  3. Those cookies look tempting! My mom used to make her own peanut butter. It was a lot of work but she preferred using homemade peanut butter over a store-bought one when cooking her specialty dish. I included this recipe, by the way, in my Mid-week Mail post. Thank you!

    • I saw, thank you!! Try making a big batch of the peanut butter, it’ll last a while and you can play around with different kinds of peanuts (honey roasted, cinnamon, etc.!). Enjoy:)

  4. Pingback: Mama's Kitchen Mondays - The Secret to #Bacon Salt - Cabin Goddess

  5. I have been craving peanut butter as well. Then I progressed to Peanut butter and honey and cinnamon sandwiches. And then the bacon cravings started. I’m so glad I found your recipe! Thank you! I can’t wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

